2011 USA National Track Cycling Championships

3rd October 2011: The 2011 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships culminated Sunday with 18 national champions crowned at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. The nation’s best track cyclists contested the Madison, men’s time trial, women’s team sprint while paracyclists competed in the time trial.

The men’s one-kilometer time trial came down to the last four riders. Kevin Mansker (Long Beach, Calif./Rubicon Cycling) posted a 1:04.670 in the penultimate heat of the competition. The final heat featured Giddeon Massie (Cypress, Calif./Bike Religion) and Matthew Baranoski (Perkasie, Pa./Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA), who placed first and second, respectively in the men’s Keirin Saturday. Massie bolted around the track, finishing in 1:04.384 while Baranoski posted the third-best time of 1:05.194.

“It (the one-kilometer time trial) brings it all together,” Massie said. “It's a hard event whether you begin with it or end with it. I left it all out there. It's all about heart. I had a little bit more left in the tank today, so I put it all into that."

The duo of Madalyn Godby (Louisville, Colo./US Pan Am) and Elizabeth Carlson (Jim Thorpe, Pa./US Pan Am), who will represent the United States of America at the Pan American Games in Mexico later this month, won the women’s team sprint after posting a 36.016 to narrowly edge Cristin Walker (Houston, Texas/Broadmark Atomic) and Tela Crane (Sammamish, Wash./Broadmark Atomic), who registered a 36.105. Carlson collected her second national title of the week after winning the women’s 500-meter time trial Thursday.

The women’s Madison was won by Kate Wilson (Los Angeles, Calif./Connie Cycling Junior Racing Team) and Lauren Hall (Dolores, Colo./Colavita-Forno d’Asolo), who had never practiced the exchanges that all were performed flawlessly throughout the race. With one sprint lap remaining, Jennifer Triplett (Manitou Springs, Colo./Lake Washington Velo) and Valerie Brostrom (Chicago, Ill./Bouledogue Tout Noir) were tied with Hall and Wilson at 15 points apiece. Each team exchanged on the last lap, allowing Wilson and Triplett to settle the race. Wilson outsprinted Triplett to earn the two extra points to win the race.

When asked her thoughts heading into the last exchange, Wilson said, "Just sprint as fast as I possibly could. It's the last race of the event. Just sprint all out."

The men’s Madison, which was the last competition on Sunday afternoon, was won by the duo of James Carney (Tucson, Ariz./RideClean p/b Patentit.com) and Ian Moir (Long Beach, Calif./Yahoo Cycling Team), who collected points on each of the 10 sprints through the 200-lap race. Carney and Moir won six of the 10 sprints and helped in denying several attempts by various teams, including a valiant effort by the duo of Iggy Silva (San Diego, Calif./Wonderful Pistachios) and Cody O’Reilly (Santa Barbara, Calif./Full Circle Sports), to gain a lap on the field to preserve their lead throughout the 50-kilometer race. The team of Jackie Simes (New Tripoli, Pa./Jamis-Sutter Home) and omnium winner Bobby Lea (Mertztown, Pa./Pure Energy Cycling-ProAirHFA) finished second, 22 points behind Carney and Moir.

In the men's BVI one-kilometer time trial, the team of Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md./Annapolis Bicycle Racing Team) and David Swanson (Tucson, Ariz./White Mountain Road Club/Landis/Trek) posted a time of 1:06.2 to win the gold medal. In the men's C1 competition, Matthew Bigos (Cardiff By the Sea, Calif./Ride Cyclery) won with a time of 1:35.8. Brett Weitzel's (Salt Lake City, Utah) time of 1:36.0 proved to be fast enough to win the men's C2 race while William Mitchel-Chesebro (Carmel Valley, Calif./VRC-NOW-MS Society) was just 1.5 seconds faster than silver-medalist Michael Farrell (Colorado Springs, Colo.) to win the men's C3 race. Aaron Trent (Colorado Springs, Colo./Speedfix Racing p/b Zubaz) won the men's C4 competition while Vincent Juarez (Colorado Springs, Colo./San Jose Bicycle Club) posted a 1:12.8 to win the men's C5 race. The team of Lisa Turnbull (Springfield, Ore.) and Karissa Whitsell (Colorado Springs, Colo./Paralympic Cycling Team) recorded a 1:15.2 to win the women's BVI race. Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo./Cody Racing) earned her second medal of the event after completing 500 meters in 46.292 seconds. Megan Fisher's (Missoula, Mont.) 47.108 was four seconds faster than Laura Sobchik (Santa Monica, Calif.) to win the women's C4 race. Jennifer Schuble (Homewood, Ala.) earned the Stars-and-Stripes jersey after registering a 39.229 in the women's C5 race.

Thanks to the USA Cycling

velodromeshop.net Advert
velodromeshop.net Advert
velodromeshop.net Advert
velodromeshop.net Advert
velodromeshop.net Advert
velodromeshop.net Advert
velodromeshop.net Advert
velodromeshop.net Advert

Follow us on Twitter/Facebook, Language Box


Home Page
Track Cycling News Headlines
Track Cycling Events Calendar
Track Cycling Online Shop

Contact Us

Contact Us


TrackCyclingNews.com - A Home for Track Cycling on the Web

Track Cycling is our passion and something we want to share with you all, which is why TrackCyclingNews.com brings you all the latest News, Photography and Interviews from the world of Track Cycling. We travel the world to cover every major Track Cycling event so you can always keep up-to-date with what’s going on in the sport. The worldwide scope of our coverage ensure that whatever your location the events you ride will receive coverage

Copyright © by Velodrome-STS Ltd All rights reserved

Velodrome-STS Ltd
Company Number - 6899402
VAT No - 936107921
Company Registered in England and Wales